The Council of Europe proclaims its "Confidence in Tomorrow"

The event will take place on 14-16 May in Strasbourg's European Youth Center, culminating in a dialogue session on 16 May with Ministers of Foreign Affairs attending the solemn Committee of Ministers meeting.

Strasbourg, May 10 (DPnet).– "Confidence in Tomorrow" is a youth event organized in the framework of the celebrations of the 75th anniversary of the Council of Europe under the Presidency of Liechtenstein. Secretary General Marija Pejčinović Burić and Permanent Representative of Liechtenstein Domenik Wanger will deliver opening speeches.

The event seeks to further renew and strengthen the close relationship between the mission of the Council of Europe and the current and future generations of young people. It is organized for young people to share their aspirations and commitment to a democratic Europe and to contribute, as irreplaceable partners for the present and the future of the Council of Europe to shaping the future of democracy and human rights on the European continent.

The program will feature plenary sessions, and working groups organized according to the key themes of the event, integrating also themes brought up by the participants. Specific attention will be placed on the application of the Reykjavík Principles for Democracy in the shaping of the mutual roles of the participants and the Council of Europe.

After the youth dialogue session on 16 May with European Ministers of Foreign Affairs, the Foreign Ministers of the 46 member states of the Council of Europe will hold their annual session on 17 May, against the background of the Organisation’s 75th anniversary.

The agenda will include the measures that the Council of Europe is continuing to take in response to the Russian Federation’s full-scale aggression against Ukraine, the implementation of the Reykjavik Declaration (adopted at the Summit of Heads of State and Government in 2023), and the adoption of a Framework Convention on Artificial Intelligence, Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law.

At the end of the meeting, Liechtenstein will hand over the Presidency of the Committee of Ministers to Lithuania. 

A press conference is scheduled at 1 pm on Friday 17 May with the Foreign Minister of Liechtenstein, the Prime Minister of Lithuania, and the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, Marija Pejčinović Burić.

More information - Contact: Estelle Steiner, Tel. +33 3 88 41 33 35

  • Hits: 508