Participatory Democracy Cultural Initiative, Inc. nominates Dr. José Azel for the IFES' 2012 Democracy Award

  • Rolando H. Castañeda
  • Visto: 3588

Miami, May 16 (─ Participatory Democracy Cultural Initiative, Inc. (PDCI) and its WEB subsidiary,, have proudly nominated Dr. Jose Azel, Senior Scholar at the Institute for Cuban and Cuban-American Studies at the University of Miami, for the Charles T. Manatt Democracy Award presented by the The International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES). The awards, granted to a Democrat, a Republican and an international candidate, are in honor of former U.S. Ambassador and Chairman of the Board of Directors of IFES Charles T. Manatt for his dedication to democracy and human rights, and is awarded based on the individual's impact on the field of democracy; focus on the next generation of leaders; sustained dedication; social change/progress; inspirational leadership; commitment to democratic values; diversity; and inclusion.

Dr. Azel is a Cuban exile scholar that promotes democracy in Cuba, writes in the WEB pages and is dedicated to the in-depth exploration of the economic, social and political life of Cuba, with great emphasis on post-Castro Cuba. José Azel is author of Mañana in Cuba: The Legacy of Castroism and Transitional Challenges for Cuba, an innovative approach to conceptualizing a path to democratic transition in Cuba.

The winners of the Democracy Award will be announced prior to IFES’ annual dinner, which will be held on September 11, 2012.

Previous recipients of the Democracy Award include: Representative Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL), Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Judge Johann Kriegler of South Africa, former United States Agency for International Development Administrator M. Peter McPherson, former Lebanese Minister of Interior and Municipalities Ziad Baroud, Representative David Obey (D-WI), Senator Richard G. Lugar (R-IN), the Honorable Lee H. Hamilton, the Honorable Tom Lantos, His Excellency José Miguel Insulza of Chile, Senator James Inhofe (R-OK), former IFES President Richard Soudriette and Monsignor Agripino Nùñez Collado of the Dominican Republic.

[ More information ]