Perspectivas / Perspectives

Denuncias / Reports

Llamamiento urgente de la ASIC

          19 de Marzo del 2018                                                                                                                                       15 años de la Primavera Negra La Asociación Sindical Independiente de Cuba (ASIC) ante las  acciones represivas contra sus integrantes” Teniendo en cuenta que el gobierno cubano ha incrementado la represión contra los afiliados de la...

General Assembly elected new members to UN Human Rights Council for 2018-2020

  • Democracia Participativa
  • Visto: 641

 United Nations, Oct. 23.– The UN General Assembly elected last Monday, Oct. 16th, by secret ballot, 15 States to serve on the Human Rights Council, the highest intergovernmental body in the United Nations system for matters relating to protection and promotion of human rights worldwide.

Newly elected to the Geneva-based Human Rights Council are Afghanistan, Angola, Australia, Chile, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Mexico, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Qatar, Senegal, Slovakia, Spain and Ukraine.

All would serve three-year terms beginning on 1 January 2018 up to 31 December 2020.

The 15 new members were allocated as follows: 

four seats for African States; four seats for Asia-Pacific States; three seats for Latin American and Caribbean States; two seats for Eastern European States; and two seats for Western European and other States. On the basis of equitable geographical distribution, Council seats are allocated to the five regional groups as follows: African States, 13 seats; Asia-Pacific States, 13 seats; Eastern European States, six seats; Latin American and Caribbean States, eight seats; and Western European and other States, seven seats.

Other members previously elected and serving until December 2018 are: Belgium, Burundi, Côte d’Ivoire, Ecuador, Ethiopia,
Georgia, Germany, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Slovenia, Switzerland, Togo, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of). In addition, 15 other members will be serving until December 2019: Brazil, China, Croatia, Cuba, Egypt, Hungary, Iraq, Japan, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Tunisia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.

Created by the General Assembly in 2006, the 47-member Council is responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe and for addressing situations of human rights violations and making recommendations on them.

Its meetings are held at the UN Office at Geneva, located at Palais des Nations, which used to house the League of Nations, until its dissolution in 1946. 

La democracia auténtica es el culto al respeto de la dignidad humana,la libertad, la justicia y la paz

Donar / Donation

Please, help with your valued donation to offset the cost of maintaining this site and to assist us in our quest for democracy and human rights. This site does not receive funds from any government or institution. Any amount, from $1 up, makes a difference!

Esta dirección de correo electrónico está siendo protegida contra los robots de spam. Necesita tener JavaScript habilitado para poder verlo." />

PAYPAL is the safer & easier way to contribute. You may use your credit card too. Thanks for your donation!