A+ A A-

Myanmar: 2017 Legislative By-Elections

On April 1, Myanmar voters will directly elect representatives to 19 seats including three seats out of 168 elected seats in the Amyotha Hluttaw, Myanmar’s upper house of Parliament; nine seats out of 330 elected seats in the Pyithu Hluttaw, Parliament’s lower house; and seven seats across two of the 14 state and region assemblies.

The by-elections come at a crucial time in the peace process, as stakeholders prepare to engage in political dialogue mechanisms.

To help you understand this multifaceted electoral process, the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) provides Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on Elections in Myanmar: 2017 Legislative By-Elections.

IFES FAQs include:

• Who are citizens voting for on Election Day?
• What is the election management body? What are its powers?
• Will the on-going peace process affect by-elections?
• How will voters with disabilities cast their ballots?

Download IFES' FAQs on Elections in Myanmar: 2017 Legislative By-Elections (PDF format)